Hana a Petr Ulrychovi: Láska (Trezor, 1969/1990)

14 Feb

February 14 seems as good a time as any to add this fairly straightforward love song from Hana a Petr Ulrychovi’s Ulysses-themed Odyssea LP, simply titled Láska (Love), to the site. The original Czech lyric by Petr Ulrych can be read here and a live version of the song (performed by Ulrych with Atlantis in 1970) can be heard here. The version on the Odyssea LP itself has a more elaborate arrangement, courtesy of the Gustav Brom Orchestra.

Láska (Love)

(after Petr Ulrych, 1969)

The air melts, slides into a thousand words.
They fall to the ground, rise to our necks,
haunt those who strangled the songs
we heard in childhood on the lips of the dead.

Their echoes circle, each sounding emptier,
more hollowed-out, than the one before.
I’d rather not know, wait for life’s return,
for the freedom of those human words.

It’s simple as the sun at noon, a song like this.
It will rise and fall if you’ll only sing.
For I’m a simple girl, hiding myself away,
feel everything, but keep it concealed in myself.

I’m simple as the flower, as laughter,
a welcome smile or the autumn sun that shines
when early frost descends from the sky.
I’m a simple girl. This is a simple song I sing.

But I don’t know yet if she’s the one.
I’m troubled, lost inside a maze of words.
She holds me in orbit like a turning moon.
I’m quiet as the wings of owls at night.

High in the clouds something stirs, says:
‘thou shalt not look here’, suggesting sin.
I wake with a head full of wicked thoughts.
Was it that Commandment put them in?

It’s simple as the moon at night, this song.
It will shine and set if you’ll only sing.
For I’m a simple girl, bashful and vain,
know everything, but keep all I know to myself.

I’m simple as the flowers, as stars,
as welcome sleep or the warmth on my skin.
Winter snow descends from the sky.
I’m a simple girl. This is a simple song I sing.

One Response to “Hana a Petr Ulrychovi: Láska (Trezor, 1969/1990)”

  1. julia.ver@orange.fr February 14, 2012 at 10:17 pm #

    Mon adresse mail : julia.ver@orange.fr

    If Mr Frantisek Trnka read it, thanks if
    he could send me a message.
    I knew him in montreal….
    Thanks and best thoughts

Leave a Reply

