Hana a Petr Ulrychovi: Leží Nade Mnou Kámen (Trezor, 1969/1990)

4 Aug

An odd but lovely song from the Ulrychovis’ 1969 album Odyssea, which was shelved at the time of its recording and left unreleased until 1990. The lyric (like that of the previously featured Ticho) is somewhat oblique, though rich in implication and symbolism, and while this version is fairly loose, hopefully it conveys something of the general mood. The Czech lyric is here and the song itself – with an arrangement by Gustav Brom – can be listened to here.

Leží nade mnou kámen (Place Your Stone Upon Me)

(after Petr Ulrych, 1969)

Why do you look at me? Let me breathe.
Lift the stone that lies on my chest.

Place your weight upon me, a hundred years of sin.
Let laughter sound, tight in my throat.

A wall’s stones are written with words like these:
I will no longer eat. You will never sleep.

Morning comes on the heel of night.
There is peace, now, and there is order here.

Order falls like rain on a gravel path.
Dark clouds disperse in the skies ahead.

But why stay here, listening to these shadows?
After all, you know you will never speak.

There are windmills turning phantom sails:
shadows in bushes, ghosts of light.

A wall’s stones are written with words like these:
Place your stone upon me. I will not eat.

Lift the stone. Its laughter is inside my throat.
Why do you look at me? Let me breathe.

Leave a Reply

