Mira Kubasińska & Breakout: Poszłabym Za Tobą (Pronit, 1969)

26 Jun

Poszłabym Za Tobą (I’ll Find You…) is the opening track on the 1969 Breakout LP Na drugim brzegu tęczy (Beyond the Rainbow) and its mix of heavy blues-based rock and ethereal flute (played by the noted Polish jazz musician Włodzimierz Nahorny) is both immediate and irresistible in its impact.

Like other Breakout songs, the lyric to Poszłabym Za Tobą is a fairly straightforward love song, in which vocalist Mira Kubasinska wonders how far she’d go to find her lover: to heaven and hell, certainly, but by the time the prospect of the highway and the end of the world come up, there’s a sense that her resolve has wavered slightly – or, at least, that she’s more interested in travelling for her own sake:

Poszłabym za tobą do samego nieba,
ale za wysoko, ale za wysoko,
ale jak się tego nie bać?

Poszłabym za tobą do samego piekła,
ale za gorąco, ale za gorąco,
ale jeszcze bym się spiekła!

Poszłabym za tobą na rozstajne drogi,
ale za daleko, ale za daleko,
jak na moje nogi – hej, hej!

Poszłabym za tobą na sam koniec świata,
ale mi się nie chce, ale mi się nie chce,
nie chce za chłopcami latać!

Not that it matters much: in musical terms, Poszłabym Za Tobą is nothing less than one of the great rock songs of its era.  The Polish lyric is reproduced above and some footage of Breakout performing it on Polish TV in 1969 can be seen here.

Poszłabym Za Tobą (I’ll Find You…)

(after Tadeusz Nalepa/Jacek Grań, 1969)

I’d come to get you from heaven itself,
but it’s too high to reach, too high to reach:
maybe I’ll get to heaven anyway
if you’ll just stay calm, wait there for me.

I’d come to get you from hell itself
but it’s too hot down there, too hot to breathe:
maybe I’ll risk it, scorch my fair skin
if you’ll wait there for me, wait till I come.

I’d come to get you from the side of the road
but that highway’s long, it’s very long:
maybe I’ll walk, wear out my shoes,
if there’s no-one there to bring you home.

I’d come to get you from the end of the world
but don’t want to go, don’t want to go:
maybe I’ll come and find you, when I can.
Will boys fly one day? I’ll fly on my own.

Leave a Reply

