Petr Ulrych: Seď a Tiše Poslouchej (Supraphon, 1968)

10 Jan

A fairly simple song, requiring little explanation, Seď a Tiše Poslouchej (Sit Quietly and Listen) was written by Petr Ulrych in 1967 and seems to have been the lead song on the same 7″ single that featured Hana & Petr Ulrychovi’s Sen (Dream) as the b-side.While the reverse features the duo performing with Vulkán, this song appears to be a solo effort by Petr Ulrych.

Seď a tiše poslouchej (Sit Quietly and Listen)

(After Petr Ulrych, 1967)

Pause now, while you’re still laughing,
sit quietly and listen to me:

I have something to say that’ll spoil this day
but you know that’s how it must be.

Step from the shadow of that grey wall,
come here and let my kiss heal all.

Stop now, while you’re still laughing,
sit quietly and listen to me:

I have something to say that’ll spoil this day
but you know that’s how it must be.

Move your body clear of that stone wall,
come to me and let my kiss heal all.

If you want to go, then go. I’ll go on alone.
But I hope you know, as sure as stone,

I’ll always return like the spring to you,
always remain, like a home, for you.

Move your body away from that cold wall,
step from its shade. Let my kiss heal all.

Stop now, while you’re still laughing,
sit quietly and listen to me:

I have something to say that’ll spoil this day
but you know that’s how it must be.

Generic Sleeve (Supraphon)

Leave a Reply

